Hi! My name is Melanie and I am an eager newM.Archipley.SHEP.Intro
SHEP sexpert this semester. I personally joined SHEP
because I realized how much I enjoy talking about and
educating people on sexual topics, and how important
it is to normalize these discussions and create a
comfortable environment in which students can ask
honest questions and get enthusiastic, judgementfree,
and accurate answers. SHEP will be rewarding
because we not only learn about how to have fun and
safer sex for life , but also because we learn how to
communicate with our peers, which is a valuable skill
in and of itself. I expect and hope to learn lots and
can’t wait to get involved.
A little about me: I am a junior double majoring in Astrophysics and Physics with a
German minor, and while I love my studies, I sometimes wish I had explored healthrelated
fields given how much I have enjoyed what I have dabbled in so far. I’m most recently from
Colorado, though I’ve lived a few other places too (and always found the variation in topics in
my health classes particularly interesting). When I’m not in the physics lab or handing out
condoms on Sproul, I’m probably at one of my jobs, lifeguarding for Cal Rec Sports or designing
layouts for The Daily Californian newspaper. I like to keep busy, maintain varied interests, and
absorb as much knowledge about the world around me as I can. And when it’s knowledge as
fun and applicable as sex, I certainly won’t pass it up!