This week we focused on anatomy for all individuals, male, female, and intersex. I thought this class was especially helpful for so many of our students in Decal because a LOT of them didn’t know where certain parts of the body were and what they did. I heard some students being unable to locate the vagina on the coloring sheets we distributed out to the class, and though a number of students were close and colored in the entire vulva, the vagina is actually a part of the vulva that extends into the body and looks like a tube. Other students had difficulty finding the cervix on the female reproductive system, and we also learned about fun facts like the cervix is what expands during birth so that the baby can vacate the uterus. As for intersex anatomy, we placed a heavy emphasis on recognizing that people who are intersex have varying forms of genitalia, and that like the female and male bodies, no two sets of anatomy are alike. In terms of male anatomy, I found that I even had trouble recognizing certain parts of the anatomy, and have identified as male since birth! I forgot where Cowper’s Gland, one of the two walnut-shaped glands in the male, located beneath the prostate gland at the beginning of the internal portion of the penis. This gland actually aids in the production of semen, as it adds the fluids which allow the sperm to travel when outside of the male body. As for my co-facilitator, I found that Reyna actually has a talent for making the content heavy material, like anatomy and safer sex, really interesting to learn about. Next week I will be covering Healthy Relationships and Sexual Debuts in the class, so it’s a kind of two-in-one presentation which I know the students will find useful and applicable in all types of situations.

~Sexpert Sergio