For our DeCal class, we discussed what sexual identity is recognized as and how it affects one’s sexual health. Your sexual identity includes your gender, your gender expression, your sexuality, and your biological sex amongst other things. Within the class, we discussed how gender has various definitions, with one of them being gender as how other characterize you as, while your own gender identity is how you see yourself on a spectrum/scale, ranging from man, woman, neither, or genderqueer. Biological sex includes males, females, and intersex individuals, while gender expression can be classified on a scale from masculine, to feminine and androgynous with agenderism also being a type of gender expression. Sexuality and romantics were a bit more difficult to cover for our class, since there are various types of sexualities like heterosexuality, homosexuality, bisexuality, asexuality, skoliosexuality, and demisexuality.

While talking about gender, I described how men and women are often seen by society, and unfortunately, those who are characterized as being men are often placed above women because we live in a society that stigmatizes femininity. We often associate femininity with certain gender roles, and I mentioned how women are often portrayed as “frail” by the media. Unfortunately, one of our students misconstrued this and thought that I was insulting women because they thought that I was calling them “frail”. Misunderstandings aside, even if I had called them “frail” I do not see why labeling yourself as “frail” is considered negative. I consider myself to be rather frail at times, and I have no problem admitting it. Does that make me less of a man? To me, no, it just makes me more of who I choose to identify as, and that shouldn’t be a bad thing. I feel as if it empowers me to be open to who I am, and people can take that however they wish. I don’t mean to go off on a rant or anything, but if labels like “frail” or “strong” offend others, then that’s on them. Everyone has different definitions of their own ways to describe themselves, and nobody should be the judge of that. This relates back to sexual health because often times we meet others who we will engage with sexually who share an identity or possess one that is different that our own and that’s what we may often like about them. Its all about who we are and how we choose to express it.

-Super Soaker Sergio