Pre NCW  February 5, 2016
Today was quite the adventure- in spirit of the upcoming National Condom Week, student leader Jamee and I were on Sproul for an hour handing out condoms. I’d never flyered before, let alone passed out condoms, so handing them out to strangers was a bit nerve-wracking during the beginning. After being shunned, ignored, and given weird looks I began to to warm up. There were some folks who were eager to take the condosaratms and little flyers we were passing out, even going so far as to ask us what our purpose was and engage in entertaining conversation. After an hour and a half of this, Jamee and I returned to Tang with empty baskets, dutifully fulfilling our pre-national condom week “tabling”.

NCW  February 12, 2016

This Friday Jamee and I met up for our tabling shift on Sproul once again. This time we were sitting behind a table handing out a bunch of goodies- lubes, dental dams, and condoms. We had a lot of fun talking to people who were intrigued by SHEP asked us what it is we do. I think National Condom Week was successful and we ended it on a positive note by handing out all of the lube and condoms!

HIV Tabling  March 4, 2016

This was my second time doing HIV tabling; however, it was a very rainy and windy day so it was moved inside the Tang center. I braved my shift alone, but I had a few people come up and talk to me, grab condoms, and find out that UC Berkeley offers HIV testing!

 

~SHEPI Sara